A Food blogger adding a little gratitude

The blogger Jane with her blog “This Week for Dinner” is grateful for her husband and her daughter and expresses it beautifully in this story of gratitude. Not only does she know how to add the right ingredients in food, but also adds the ingredient of gratitude to life, which we at Gratitude Nation admire!

Gratitude
Yesterday was a rough day, thanks to work and myriad other things going on. When dinnertime rolled around, we decided to just hit California Pizza Kitchen with the kids. When we first got there, Owen was being all grumpy-like and the girls were kind of hyper. I was feeling overwhelmed.

Then Cate said, “Let’s play I Spy!” Honestly, my brain couldn’t handle it. I kept thinking about my to-do list, I wasn’t feeling well, I just didn’t have the energy. But Nate jumped in and proceeded to play a guessing game with the girls all throughout dinner. I sat there, watching their excitement with the game, listening to their sweet comments, gazing at their innocent, beautiful faces. It was like a healing balm. I felt grateful…grateful for Nate, grateful for those cute kids.

Gratitude. That is what I’m focusing on this week.

Gratitude for a 5-year-old daughter who wanted a crown birthday cake. Gratitude that I had the chance to make it for her.

Gratitude for the work that provides us a place to live, even if it gets stressful sometimes.

Gratitude for each moment I get to spend with my loved ones.

I’ll survive the week. I may or may not get everything done that I’m supposed to, but that’s okay. I am grateful.

http://thisweekfordinner.com/2012/12/19/gratitude/

Leave a comment